A Whovian Review (Season Premiere)

I want to say that this transition was harder for me than Tennant to Smith. I watching Capaldi’s first few moments nervous and tense from the edge of my seat (after initial screeches at the new theme). In silly Doctor Who fashion, the TARDIS is coughed up by a T-Rex. Very comforting. And I found that I liked Capaldi’s Doc swag immediately. He seemed to try to incorporate bits of Tennant and Smith Doctors into his own; maybe these likenesses are for us to make this easier or maybe it’s a homage as Capaldi is a Whovian himself. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens. There were things that I wasn’t too impressed with in this first episode like the whole sequence where Capaldi was falling through the tree and flipped onto the horse – eck. I still like Clara as a companion, but I was a little upset when the Doctor made that comment about not being her boyfriend because I never thought their relationship was about that. Just because River Song was attached to the Matt Smith Doctor doesn’t mean we should force a relationship between Capaldi’s Doctor and Clara. I REALLY HOPE THAT CYBORG FELL. And what is this heaven business? We shall see.

EDIT: I’m dying for the Capaldi face in Fires of Pompeii and Tom Baker in the anniversary special to be addressed. I think that this episode started to address that well, but that may just be my wishful thinking.

Leave a Reply

